What is Michigan’s Zero Tolerance Law for Underage DUI?What is Michigan’s Zero Tolerance Law for Underage DUI? https://www.lykinslawplc.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/drunk-driving-lawyer-grand-rapids-mi.jpg 600 450 Criminal Defense Attorney | Defense Attorney Grand Rapids, MI | Jerry Lykins Law Criminal Defense Attorney | Defense Attorney Grand Rapids, MI | Jerry Lykins Law https://www.lykinslawplc.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/drunk-driving-lawyer-grand-rapids-mi.jpg
The legal drinking age in Michigan is 21. However, this doesn’t stop many young drivers from making the mistake of consuming alcohol illegally while they’re underage. If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving under the influence, you’ll need to call our DUI attorney as soon as possible. Our drunk driving attorney will be able to help you navigate the legal system so you can get the best outcome for your case.
Continue reading to learn more about Michigan’s “zero tolerance” law for underage DUI’s.
What Does “Zero Tolerance” Mean?
Adults age 21 and older are allowed to drive after drinking if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is below 0.08% and they show no signs of impairment. However, people under age 21 aren’t allowed to drive with any alcohol in their system, even if it’s below the adult legal limit of 0.08%. The only exception would be if you had consumed alcohol as part of a generally recognized religious service or ceremony, but only if your BAC was below 0.02%.
What are the Consequences of Underage DUI?
Just because you’re a minor or young adult, doesn’t mean the law will go easy on you if you’re arrested for underage DUI. For this reason, it’s important you hire a drunk driving attorney so one mistake doesn’t have to rule the rest of your life.
If convicted of underage DUI for the first time, you’ll need to pay up to a $250 fine and/or complete up to 360 hours of community service. Your driver’s license will also be restricted for 30 days and 4 points will be added to your driving record. In the past, drivers in this situation had to pay a driver responsibility fee (DRF) of $500. However, the DRF law was eliminated on October 1, 2018.
Second Conviction Within 7 Years
If convicted of underage DUI within 7 years of a previous conviction, you may have to pay up to a $500 fine, complete up to 60 days of community service, and/or spend up to 93 days in jail. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may have to do one or several of the above. For this reason, it’s important that you hire our DUI lawyer as soon as possible so you have a better chance of avoiding harsh sentencing.
Similar to the first time you were convicted of underage DUI, 4 more points will be added to your driving record. Your driver’s license will also be suspended or revoked depending on your previous criminal history. For the best results with your case, we recommend hiring our drunk driving attorney as soon as possible. Our DUI attorney specializes in cases like yours and will be able to help you understand your next steps.
Jerry Lykins is a drunk driving attorney in Grand Rapids MI. Jerry Lykins has handled over 1,500 DUI cases and has defended clients from 11 West Michigan counties. To request a consultation with our Grand Rapids DUI attorney, call or text Lykins Law at (616) 540-0443.