Tips for Driver’s License Reinstatement after DUITips for Driver’s License Reinstatement after DUI https://www.lykinslawplc.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/tips-for-drivers-license-reinstatement-after-dui.jpg 600 450 Criminal Defense Attorney | Defense Attorney Grand Rapids, MI | Jerry Lykins Law Criminal Defense Attorney | Defense Attorney Grand Rapids, MI | Jerry Lykins Law https://www.lykinslawplc.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/tips-for-drivers-license-reinstatement-after-dui.jpg
Even a first offense DUI can result in a suspended license, which is why you need to hire a criminal defense attorney. Our DUI attorney can help you restore your driver’s license so you can continue driving to work, running errands, or dropping the kids off at school.
We understand that you depend on your driver’s license every day, which is why we offer our legal services to those facing DUI charges. Continue reading to learn how our DUI attorney can help you with driver’s license reinstatement.
Driver’s License Reinstatement
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
DUI stands for driving under the influence. This means illegally driving your vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. If you drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.08%, you are at risk for being pulled over by police due to DUI. DUI charges also apply to driving while impaired by illegal drugs and certain prescribed medications.
Michigan has a zero tolerance policy for drunk driving. This means that there is no distinction made between driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI). While other states may be more lenient by differentiating between DUI and DWI, Michigan is not one of these states. This is why you should contact a criminal defense attorney to help you mitigate DUI consequences.
Levels of DUI Charges
Depending on your history with drunk driving convictions, you will face different consequences. If you are a habitual drunk driver, you will receive significantly harsher consequences than someone facing their first DUI. In the state of Michigan, there are three levels of drunk driving offenses.
A first offense DUI could result in a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license and up to 90 days in jail. Subsequent drunk driving offenses could result in the indefinite or even permanent loss of your driver’s license.
To understand the differences between levels of drunk driving offenses and how you are affected, be sure to contact a DUI lawyer who will fight for your legal rights.
Driver’s License Reinstatement
Once you have a DUI on your record, you will have to meet certain requirements before being able to restore your driver’s license.
- Stay sober for 12 months
- Have three individuals willing to vouch for your sobriety
- Prove that you received rehabilitation counseling for alcohol abuse
- Prove membership in a recovery program, such as Alcoholics Anonymous
Preventing DUI Charges
The best way to avoid DUI charges is to drink responsibly. For example, if you drive to a local bar, you need to plan how you’ll get home. If you are drinking with a group of friends, have a designated driver you can trust to stay sober. If you’re by yourself, call a taxi or a friend to come pick you up. The best way to prevent a DUI conviction is to not get in front of the wheel when intoxicated.
Blood alcohol level charts can be helpful to determine how much alcohol you can drink while staying below the legal limit. However, keep in mind that people are affected by alcohol differently depending on their absorption and metabolism rates.
Attorney Jerry Lykins of Lykins Law has handled over 1,500 DUI cases. Our defense attorney takes the time to meet with you, explain your rights, and help you better understand what you’re facing. To request a consultation with our Grand Rapids DUI attorney for driver’s license reinstatement, call or text (616) 540-0443.